MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#48
Chris Carter
AVG HR RBI
.201 8 26
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 6-4 / 245 NFBC ADP: 303.62
Position: 1BBorn: 12/18/1986 Birthplace: Redwood City, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 15th Round by White Sox (2005)


Latest News
July 21 9:08 AM PT10:08 AM MT11:08 AM CT12:08 PM ET12:08 ET16:08 GMT0:08 9:08 AM MST11:08 AM EST11:38 AM VEN20:08 UAE11:08 AM CT-The A's have signed Carter to a minor-league contract.
Analysis: The 2016 NL co-home run leader will at first report to Triple-A Nashville, though he could eventually be an option at first base should Oakland trade Yonder Alonso at the upcoming deadline. Carter smacked 41 homers for the Brewers in 2016 but produced just eight along with a .201 average in 184 at-bats with the Yankees this year. He was released by New York earlier this month.
July 11 7:53 AM PT8:53 AM MT9:53 AM CT10:53 AM ET10:53 ET14:53 GMT22:53 7:53 AM MST9:53 AM EST10:23 AM VEN18:53 UAE9:53 AM CT-Unable to replicate his success at the plate from last season, Carter is a free agent once more after the New York Yankees released the slumping first baseman on Monday.
Analysis: Carter, 30, had eight home runs with 26 RBIs while hitting .201 and striking out 76 times in 62 games with the Yankees this season. He slugged an NL-leading 41 homers with 94 RBIs for the Brewers in 2016. He signed a one-year, $3.5 million deal with New York in February. He was designated for assignment June 24, but returned to the team June 29 when first baseman Tyler Austin was placed on the DL. Carter was designated for assignment the second time this season July 4.
July 4 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 2 Tuesday as the New York Yankees fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-1. He ended the game with a .201 batting average.
Analysis: Carter was designated for assignment for the second time this season after the game. The Yankees said they will bring up Ji-Man Choi from Triple-A Scranton-Wilkes/Barre on Wednesday.
July 3 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 3 Monday as the New York Yankees topped the Toronto Blue Jays 6-3. He ended the game with a .203 batting average.
July 2 5:06 PM PT6:06 PM MT7:06 PM CT8:06 PM ET20:06 ET0:06 GMT8:06 5:06 PM MST7:06 PM EST7:36 PM VEN4:06 UAE (+1)7:06 PM CT-Chris Carter went 1 for 4 with an RBI Sunday as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 8-1. He ended the game with a .207 batting average.
July 2 10:05 AM PT11:05 AM MT12:05 PM CT1:05 PM ET13:05 ET17:05 GMT1:05 10:05 AM MST12:05 PM EST12:35 PM VEN21:05 UAE12:05 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 3 Saturday as the New York Yankees fell to the Houston Astros 7-6. He ended the game with a .206 batting average.
June 30 8:45 PM PT9:45 PM MT10:45 PM CT11:45 PM ET23:45 ET3:45 GMT11:45 8:45 PM MST10:45 PM EST11:15 PM VEN7:45 UAE (+1)10:45 PM CT-Chris Carter went 2 for 5 with a double and two RBIs Friday as the New York Yankees topped the Houston Astros 13-4. Carter scored twice. He ended the game with a .209 batting average.
June 24 9:02 AM PT10:02 AM MT11:02 AM CT12:02 PM ET12:02 ET16:02 GMT0:02 9:02 AM MST11:02 AM EST11:32 AM VEN20:02 UAE11:02 AM CT-Carter has been called up from Triple-A, only one day after accepting the demotion following his designation for assignment.
Analysis: The National League's co-leader with 41 home runs a year ago, Carter didn't impress in his first season as a Yankee, hitting just .204 with eight homers and 23 RBIs in 57 games. The Yankees decided to move forward with youngster Tyler Austin at first base, but Carter is getting another chance because Austin has landed on the DL with a strained hamstring.
June 24 9:37 PM PT10:37 PM MT11:37 PM CT12:37 AM ET0:37 ET4:37 GMT12:37 9:37 PM MST11:37 PM EST12:07 AM VEN8:37 UAE11:37 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 4 Friday as the New York Yankees beat the Texas Rangers 2-1. He ended the game with a .204 batting average.
June 23 8:16 AM PT9:16 AM MT10:16 AM CT11:16 AM ET11:16 ET15:16 GMT23:16 8:16 AM MST10:16 AM EST10:46 AM VEN19:16 UAE10:16 AM CT-Chris Carter went 2 for 4 with a double Thursday as the New York Yankees lost to the Los Angeles Angels 10-5. Carter scored once. He ended the game with a .209 batting average.
Analysis: The strikeout-prone slugger entered the matchup in an 0-for-10 slump, though he has been a serviceable fantasy option at first base for most of his month. Carter is hitting .269 (14 for 52) with four homers and nine RBIs over his past 15 games and appears to be secure in an everyday role for the time being.
June 21 9:02 PM PT10:02 PM MT11:02 PM CT12:02 AM ET0:02 ET4:02 GMT12:02 9:02 PM MST11:02 PM EST11:32 PM VEN8:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the New York Yankees fell to the Los Angeles Angels 8-3. He ended the game with a .201 batting average.
June 19 8:19 AM PT9:19 AM MT10:19 AM CT11:19 AM ET11:19 ET15:19 GMT23:19 8:19 AM MST10:19 AM EST10:49 AM VEN19:19 UAE10:19 AM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 3 Sunday as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-3. He ended the game with a .205 batting average.
June 18 7:56 AM PT8:56 AM MT9:56 AM CT10:56 AM ET10:56 ET14:56 GMT22:56 7:56 AM MST9:56 AM EST10:26 AM VEN18:56 UAE9:56 AM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 4 Saturday as the New York Yankees fell to the Oakland Athletics 5-2. He ended the game with a .209 batting average.
June 17 10:25 AM PT11:25 AM MT12:25 PM CT1:25 PM ET13:25 ET17:25 GMT1:25 10:25 AM MST12:25 PM EST12:55 PM VEN21:25 UAE12:25 PM CT-Chris Carter went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Friday as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 7-6. The homer was his eighth of the season. He ended the game with a .215 batting average.
Analysis: Carter snapped a 4-4 tie with a leadoff home run in the sixth inning, his 14th career home run against Oakland, his former team, and second in two games.
June 16 11:41 AM PT12:41 PM MT1:41 PM CT2:41 PM ET14:41 ET18:41 GMT2:41 11:41 AM MST1:41 PM EST2:11 PM VEN22:41 UAE1:41 PM CT-Chris Carter went 2 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Thursday as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 8-7. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .214 batting average.
Analysis: Carter appears to be working out of his season-long rut, batting .318 over his last five games. He only has seven home runs after belting 41 last season.
June 14 8:19 AM PT9:19 AM MT10:19 AM CT11:19 AM ET11:19 ET15:19 GMT23:19 8:19 AM MST10:19 AM EST10:49 AM VEN19:19 UAE10:19 AM CT-Chris Carter went 1 for 5 Tuesday as the New York Yankees lost to the Los Angeles Angels 3-2. He ended the game with a .207 batting average.
June 13 8:28 AM PT9:28 AM MT10:28 AM CT11:28 AM ET11:28 ET15:28 GMT23:28 8:28 AM MST10:28 AM EST10:58 AM VEN19:28 UAE10:28 AM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 4 Monday as the New York Yankees beat the Los Angeles Angels 5-3. He ended the game with a .207 batting average.
June 11 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Chris Carter went 2 for 3 Sunday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 14-3. He ended the game with a .214 batting average.
Analysis: Greg Bird is expected back from his ankle injury in the coming days, but it'll be hard to take Carter out of the lineup right now. He's 8 for 20 with two homers and six RBIs over his last five starts.
June 10 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Chris Carter went 2 for 5 with an RBI Saturday as the New York Yankees beat the Baltimore Orioles 16-3. He ended the game with a .203 batting average.
June 8 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 4 Thursday as the New York Yankees beat the Boston Red Sox 9-1. He ended the game with a .195 batting average.
June 7 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Chris Carter went 3 for 4 with a home run and four RBIs Wednesday as the New York Yankees beat the Boston Red Sox 8-0. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .202 batting average.
Analysis: Carter's bat has come to life in this series, as he's 4 for 8 with a pair of homers and five RBIs through the first two games. If he can keep doing damage at the plate, the strikeout-prone slugger has a chance to remain the Yankees' regular first baseman even when Greg Bird likely returns from the DL next week.
June 7 7:18 AM PT8:18 AM MT9:18 AM CT10:18 AM ET10:18 ET14:18 GMT22:18 7:18 AM MST9:18 AM EST9:48 AM VEN18:18 UAE9:18 AM CT-Chris Carter went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the New York Yankees fell to the Boston Red Sox 5-4. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .183 batting average.
June 3 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 1 Saturday as the New York Yankees topped the Toronto Blue Jays 7-0. He ended the game with a .180 batting average.
June 2 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Chris Carter went 1 for 4 with a double Friday as the New York Yankees fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-5. He ended the game with a .182 batting average.
June 2 9:15 AM PT10:15 AM MT11:15 AM CT12:15 PM ET12:15 ET16:15 GMT0:15 9:15 AM MST11:15 AM EST11:45 AM VEN20:15 UAE11:15 AM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 4 Thursday as the New York Yankees beat the Toronto Blue Jays 12-2. He ended the game with a .179 batting average.
Analysis: Carter is now hitless in his last 17 at-bats and is just 2 for 32 in his last 12 games.
May 29 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 3 Monday as the New York Yankees lost to the Baltimore Orioles 3-2. He ended the game with a .188 batting average.
Analysis: Carter has two hits - both solo homers - with 15 strikeouts in 27 at-bats over his last 10 games.
May 28 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 2 with an RBI Sunday as the New York Yankees beat the Oakland Athletics 9-5. Carter scored once. He ended the game with a .194 batting average.
May 27 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 2 Saturday as the New York Yankees beat the Oakland Athletics 3-2. He ended the game with a .198 batting average.
May 26 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 3 Friday as the New York Yankees fell to the Oakland Athletics 4-1. He ended the game with a .202 batting average.
Analysis: Carter has two hits - both solo homers - with 11 strikeouts in 20 at-bats over his last seven games.
May 24 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 2 Wednesday as the New York Yankees beat the Kansas City Royals 3-0. He ended the game with a .209 batting average.
May 23 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Chris Carter went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the New York Yankees fell to the Kansas City Royals 6-2. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .213 batting average.
Analysis: Three of Carter's four homers this season have come in five games against the Royals, including one each in the first two of this series. The Yankees host Kansas City for two more games this week.
May 22 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Chris Carter went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Monday as the New York Yankees beat the Kansas City Royals 4-2. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .209 batting average.
May 21 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 3 Sunday as the New York Yankees topped the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2. He ended the game with a .205 batting average.
May 19 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 3 Friday as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4. He ended the game with a .213 batting average.
May 19 8:58 AM PT9:58 AM MT10:58 AM CT11:58 AM ET11:58 ET15:58 GMT23:58 8:58 AM MST10:58 AM EST11:28 AM VEN19:58 UAE10:58 AM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 3 Thursday as the New York Yankees fell to the Kansas City Royals 5-1. He ended the game with a .221 batting average.
May 18 8:24 AM PT9:24 AM MT10:24 AM CT11:24 AM ET11:24 ET15:24 GMT23:24 8:24 AM MST10:24 AM EST10:54 AM VEN19:24 UAE10:24 AM CT-Chris Carter went 1 for 5 with an RBI Wednesday as the New York Yankees beat the Kansas City Royals 11-7. Carter scored once. He ended the game with a .230 batting average.
May 17 9:35 AM PT10:35 AM MT11:35 AM CT12:35 PM ET12:35 ET16:35 GMT0:35 9:35 AM MST11:35 AM EST12:05 PM VEN20:35 UAE11:35 AM CT-Chris Carter went 3 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Tuesday as the New York Yankees beat the Kansas City Royals 7-1. The homer was his second of the season. Carter scored twice. He ended the game with a .232 batting average.
Analysis: Carter has 13 career hits against Kansas City. Six of them are home runs.
May 14 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Chris Carter went 1 for 3 with a double and an RBI Sunday as the New York Yankees topped the Houston Astros 11-6. He ended the game with a .206 batting average.
May 11 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Chris Carter went 1 for 3 Thursday as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 3-2. He ended the game with a .200 batting average.
May 9 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)10:37 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the New York Yankees fell to the Cincinnati Reds 5-3. He ended the game with a .193 batting average.
May 8 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE11:01 AM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 2 Sunday as the New York Yankees topped the Chicago Cubs 5-4. He ended the game with a .204 batting average.
May 6 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)10:48 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 4 Saturday as the New York Yankees topped the Chicago Cubs 11-6. He ended the game with a .212 batting average.
May 5 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Chris Carter went 0 for 3 Friday as the New York Yankees beat the Chicago Cubs 3-2. He ended the game with a .229 batting average.
Analysis: Carter drew a walk but struck out three times, giving him nine Ks in 19-at-bats over his last five games.
May 4 9:07 PM PT10:07 PM MT11:07 PM CT12:07 AM ET0:07 ET4:07 GMT12:07 9:07 PM MST11:07 PM EST11:37 PM VEN8:07 UAE11:07 PM CT-Chris Carter went 2 for 4 with an RBI Wednesday as the New York Yankees topped the Toronto Blue Jays 8-6. Carter scored once. He ended the game with a .244 batting average.
May 3 10:08 PM PT11:08 PM MT12:08 AM CT1:08 AM ET1:08 ET5:08 GMT13:08 10:08 PM MST12:08 AM EST12:38 AM VEN9:08 UAE12:08 AM CT-Chris Carter went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the New York Yankees topped the Toronto Blue Jays 11-5. Carter scored twice. He ended the game with a .220 batting average.
Apr. 30 4:37 PM PT5:37 PM MT6:37 PM CT7:37 PM ET19:37 ET23:37 GMT7:37 4:37 PM MST6:37 PM EST7:07 PM VEN3:37 UAE (+1)6:37 PM CT-Chris Carter went 2 for 5 with a double Sunday as the New York Yankees lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-4. He ended the game with a .211 batting average.
Apr. 28 6:43 AM PT7:43 AM MT8:43 AM CT9:43 AM ET9:43 ET13:43 GMT21:43 6:43 AM MST8:43 AM EST9:13 AM VEN17:43 UAE8:43 AM CT-Carter went 0 for 4 Thursday as the New York Yankees topped the Boston Red Sox 3-0. He ended the game with a .182 batting average.
Analysis: Known for his power, Carter has just one homer in 33 at-bats.
Apr. 22 6:23 PM PT7:23 PM MT8:23 PM CT9:23 PM ET21:23 ET1:23 GMT9:23 6:23 PM MST8:23 PM EST8:53 PM VEN5:23 UAE (+1)8:23 PM CT-Carter drilled a three-run homer in the eighth inning off reliever Felipe Rivero to lift the New York Yankees to an 11-5 win over the Pittsburgh Pirates on Saturday.
Analysis: Carter hit 41 home runs last season, but this was only his first of 2017. He's hitting .179 and we'll have to see more before we recommend picking him up.
Feb. 7 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Carter and the New York Yankees agreed to a one-year, $3 million deal on Tuesday, according to published reports.
Analysis: Carter led the NL in homers last season with 41 for the Brewers and drove in a career-best 94 runs but batted just .222. Milwaukee didn't tender Carter a contract after the season, and the 30-year-old didn't attract much interest on the free-agent market due to his propensity for striking out. He fanned a major-league-leading 206 times last season to mark the fourth straight season in which he struck out more than 150 times.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Oak 24 70 8 13 1 0 3 7 7 21 1 0 .186 .256 .329
2011 Oak 15 44 2 6 0 0 0 0 2 20 0 0 .136 .174 .136
2012 Oak 67 218 38 52 12 0 16 39 39 83 0 0 .239 .350 .514
2013 Hou 148 506 64 113 24 2 29 82 70 212 2 0 .223 .320 .451
2014 Hou 145 507 68 115 21 1 37 88 56 182 5 2 .227 .308 .491
2015 Hou 129 391 50 78 17 0 24 64 57 151 1 2 .199 .307 .427
2016 Mil 160 549 84 122 27 1 41 94 76 206 3 1 .222 .321 .499
2017 NYY 62 184 20 37 5 1 8 26 20 76 0 0 .201 .284 .370
Career 750 2469 334 536 107 5 158 400 327 951 12 5 .217 .312 .456

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Hou Total 6 17 3 5 1 0 1 1 3 7 0 0 .294 .400 .529
    WC 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 0 - 1.000 -
    LDS 5 17 3 5 1 0 1 1 0 7 0 0 .294 .294 .529
Career 6 17 3 5 1 0 1 1 3 7 0 0 .294 .400 .529


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

  • 490 First Avenue South
  • St. Petersburg, FL 33701
  • 727-893-8111