MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#50
Amir Garrett
ERA W-L K
7.41 3-6 49
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-5 / 228 NFBC ADP: 525.48
Position: SPBorn: 5/3/1992 Birthplace: Victorville, California
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 22nd Round by Reds (2011)


Latest News
June 20 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Amir Garrett fell to 3-6, allowing six runs on five hits and four walks in 3.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-5 on Tuesday. Garrett struck out three, ending the game with a 7.41 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The left-hander has been awful in his last six starts, going 0-4 with a 12.49 ERA. That's come after the rookie went 3-2 with a 4.25 ERA in his first six outings, which included five quality starts.
June 14 3:35 PM PT4:35 PM MT5:35 PM CT6:35 PM ET18:35 ET22:35 GMT6:35 3:35 PM MST5:35 PM EST6:05 PM VEN2:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Amir Garrett allowed two runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the San Diego Padres 4-2 on Wednesday. Garrett struck out eight, ending the game with a 6.91 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Garrett, who left his previous start after taking a hard comebacker off the palm of his left hand, took a 2-0 lead into the sixth before allowing a tying two-run homer.
June 10 11:09 AM PT12:09 PM MT1:09 PM CT2:09 PM ET14:09 ET18:09 GMT2:09 11:09 AM MST1:09 PM EST1:39 PM VEN22:09 UAE1:09 PM CT-Amir Garrett fell to 3-5, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-2 on Friday. Garrett struck out two, ending the game with a 7.40 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Garrett left the game after taking a hard comebacker off the palm of his left hand, but X-rays were negative and he was diagnosed with a bruised hand. ''It doesn't look like there's going to be any longstanding issues,'' said Reds manager Bryan Price.
June 9 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Garrett left the game against the Dodgers after taking a line drive off the palm of his pitching hand in the second inning Friday.
Analysis: Garrett, who gave up a two-run homer to Justin Turner in the first inning, attempted to catch a shot off the bat of Austin Barnes to open the second. Garrett went to the ground immediately and laid there for several minutes. He took practice pitches but was unable to continue.
June 4 5:50 PM PT6:50 PM MT7:50 PM CT8:50 PM ET20:50 ET0:50 GMT8:50 5:50 PM MST7:50 PM EST8:20 PM VEN4:50 UAE (+1)7:50 PM CT-Garrett fell to 3-4, allowing nine runs - eight earned - on seven hits and three walks in 2.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Atlanta Braves 13-8 on Sunday. Garrett struck out one, ending the game with a 7.17 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The rookie left-hander is 1-4 with a 9.08 ERA in his last seven starts after winning his first two outings.
May 25 11:38 AM PT12:38 PM MT1:38 PM CT2:38 PM ET14:38 ET18:38 GMT2:38 11:38 AM MST1:38 PM EST2:08 PM VEN22:38 UAE1:38 PM CT-Garrett (right hip) will come off the DL and start Sunday against the Braves.
Analysis: His ERA was under 2.00 through his first three starts, but Garrett has posted an unsightly 9.24 mark in five outings since then.
May 23 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Amir Garrett allowed seven runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Cleveland Indians 8-7 on Tuesday. Garrett struck out two, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The rookie left-hander's strong start is certainly a thing of the past. After going 2-1 with a 1.83 ERA in his first three starts, Garrett is 1-2 with a 9.24 ERA in his last five.
May 18 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Amir Garrett fell to 3-3, allowing six runs on five hits and four walks in 4.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 9-5 on Thursday. Garrett struck out five, ending the game with a 5.18 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
May 7 9:03 PM PT10:03 PM MT11:03 PM CT12:03 AM ET0:03 ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST11:03 PM EST11:33 PM VEN8:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Amir Garrett improved to 3-2, allowing two runs on five hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the San Francisco Giants 14-2 on Saturday. Garrett struck out two, ending the game with a 4.25 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 1 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Amir Garrett allowed two runs on two hits and three walks in 7.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3 on Monday. Garrett struck out four, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Garrett was in line for the win until the Pirates tied it in the eighth. He bounced back after allowing 10 runs in 3 1/3 innings of an 11-7 loss at Milwaukee on April 24. Prior to that dud, the rookie left-hander went 2-1 with a 1.83 ERA in his first three starts.
Apr. 19 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Garrett suffered his first loss in three starts, but was outstanding again Wednesday against Baltimore. He allowed two runs and seven hits over seven innings with one walk and 12 strikeouts.
Analysis: Garrett tied the Reds' modern record for a rookie left-hander by striking out 12. Dennys Reyes also fanned a dozen Pirates in 1998. Gary Nolan set the club's modern rookie record by fanning 15 Giants in 1967.
Apr. 13 9:28 AM PT10:28 AM MT11:28 AM CT12:28 PM ET12:28 ET16:28 GMT0:28 9:28 AM MST11:28 AM EST11:58 AM VEN20:28 UAE11:28 AM CT-Garrett threw another gem, taking a shutout into the seventh inning and leading Cincinnati over the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-2 Wednesday night for a three-game sweep.
Analysis: Garrett (2-0), the former St. John's basketball player, blanked the Pirates until David Freese hit a two-run homer. Garrett gave up five hits, walked none and struck out five in 6 2/3 innings. In his major league debut last week, the 24-year-old pitched six scoreless innings to win at St. Louis.
Apr. 8 7:37 AM PT8:37 AM MT9:37 AM CT10:37 AM ET10:37 ET14:37 GMT22:37 7:37 AM MST9:37 AM EST10:07 AM VEN18:37 UAE9:37 AM CT-Touted as Cincinnati's top pitching prospect, the former St. John's basketball player pitched two-hit ball for six innings to win his major league debut as the Reds beat the St. Louis Cardinals 2-0 Friday night.
Analysis: Garrett struck out four, walked two and needed only 78 pitches to record 18 outs. The lefty played two seasons of college hoops while already a Reds minor leaguer.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 Cin 3 6 0 - 0 12 12 0 58.1 62 50 48 19 29 2 49 1.56 7.41
Career 3 6 0 - 0 12 12 0 58.1 62 50 48 19 29 2 49 1.56 7.41

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Cin 12 17 1 1 1 0 0 1 0 6 0 0 .059 .059 .118
Career 12 17 1 1 1 0 0 1 0 6 0 0 .059 .059 .118


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 636 95 87 91.4 62.41
Slider 204 82 75 79.2 20.02
Changeup 179 85 76 80.7 17.57

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

  • 490 First Avenue South
  • St. Petersburg, FL 33701
  • 727-893-8111